Last week the Georgian Senate passed Law 46-7 aimed at ending the state’s observance of daylight saving time.

When enacted. This would mean that Peach State residents would no longer have to prepare to “leap forward” or “fall back” every year. But they would also miss that extra hour of daylight every day between March and October.

We all could use a little love from a furry companion right now. Consider adopting one of these furry little creatures to be part of your family. Click for more.

California voted to make daylight saving time permanent in 2018, and Washington did so in 2019. However, federal law would have to change for these measures to take effect.

Contrary to these bills, Georgia would put the state on standard time and this would have immediate effects.

The law was passed bipartisan last Wednesday. Fifteen sponsors were Senator Michelle Au (D) and Senate Majority Leader Mike Dugan (R). Both told CNN that their main reason for supporting Standard Time was public health and safety.

Success! An email was sent to with a link to confirm the list registration.

Error! An error occurred while processing your request.

“There is growing scientific evidence that these annual time shifts are harmful to health, disrupt the sleep cycle and are related to a higher immediate risk of heart attacks, strokes, arrhythmias and even car accidents,” Au said in a statement. “In addition, a majority of Americans agree that they want to end this tradition of ‘leaping forward’ and ‘falling back’.”

Dugan agreed with these remarks, saying, “It has been proven that there are health problems” associated with the biannual clock change. “It’s time to stick to a time,” he added.

One opponent of the bill was previously a co-sponsor. Senator Kim Jackson (D) voted against the measure, telling CNN that after “a lot of research” she would “plunge Georgians into darkness eight months a year” until the federal government takes action.

The bill now has to be voted on by the Georgia House of Representatives. If Georgia were passed and signed by Governor Brian Kemp before March 14, it would remain in Standard Time while other states would “jump forward” into Daylight Saving Time. However, if the bill has expired after daylight saving time has started, it won’t take effect until October 2021, when daylight saving time ends.

At this congress two bills were introduced calling for permanent summer time. They are the Sun Protection Act (HB 69) and the Daylight Act (HB 214). Both were referred to the US House Committee on Energy and Trade, but stalled there.

CNN’s Scottie Andrew contributed to this report