What is a super speeder?
Under Georgia’s Super Speeder Act, a super speeder is a driver who has been caught and convicted of driving at 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or 85 mph or more on a road or highway in Peach State. Also, keep in mind that the maximum speed for rural highways in Georgia is 70 mph, while the maximum speed for urban highways drops to 55 mph. So let’s say that if you are driving 85 mph on an urban highway, there are four items to consider on your license in addition to the Super Speeder fee. In the state of Georgia, drivers who earn 15 points within 24 months will have their licenses suspended.
Super speeder fines and penalties
Now is the time to pay attention. In addition to the fines, fees, and license points associated with your standard parking ticket, you will also have to pay an additional $ 200 fine. However, the Super Speeder Fine does not add points to your license as it is essentially an additional fine imposed after a conviction for a speeding ticket is sent to the Georgia Department of Drivers Services. It’s also worth noting that the officer who gives you the parking ticket is not required to declare your Super Speeder status.
How can Super Speeder tickets affect my car insurance?
If you choose to pay the fines, this information will be recorded on your driving record and, according to carinsurance.com, it will most likely be shown by your insurance company. As a result, your insurance premiums will very likely increase. Remember that your insurance premium also depends on your previous driving history, the insurance company itself, and the speed you actually drove when you became a Super Speeder. The same point of sale ran a cost simulation and found that a speed of 16 to 29 miles per hour over the legal limit means an average increase of 27 percent.
What can I do if I am approved as a Super Speeder?
As mentioned earlier, you can either pay the fine and accept your insurance premium going up, or you can hire a lawyer to help you keep your driving records clean. In some situations, a traffic attorney may reduce the fee to a lesser extent or remove the Super Speeder Tag entirely. You need to make your decision quickly, however, as the state of Georgia is working on a “six month statute of limitations for the withdrawal of Super Speeder requests and it is taking time for the Department of Driver Services to change and correct the driving records” to George Creal, quoted by CarInsurance.
How will I be notified that I owe the Super Speeder Fee?
The Department of Driver Services will notify you by first class mail of the $ 200 Super Speeder fine you owe. You can pay the fee within 120 days from the date of cancellation.
Will my license be suspended?
Yes. Failure to pay the $ 200 fee to the Department of Driver Services within the allotted 120 days will suspend your Georgia driver’s license, permit, or driver’s license. In this case, you will also have to pay what is known as a reinstatement fee of $ 50, which is on top of the initial Super Speeder ticket fee of $ 200.
I am an out of state driver. How does this affect my driving permissions?
Well, you can’t get away with it, that’s for sure. If you have been classified as a Super Speeder in the state of Georgia but happen to be a resident of another state and refuse to pay the $ 200 fee, the Department of Driver Services may issue a suspension of your non-resident Georgia driver privilege. In addition, the Department of Driver Services will report the suspension to your home state’s licensing authority. This authority then decides whether or not action is required.