The Georgia State Patrol graduated from their 110th Trooper School at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth on Friday, September 17. After 32 weeks of intense training and a three-week hiatus due to a COVID outbreak, 34 new soldiers will report to one of 52 patrol posts across the state.

First Lady Marty Kemp was the keynote speaker. Colonel Chris C. Wright, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety (DPS), paid tribute to the first responders killed on September 11th. Lieutenant Colonel William W. Hitchens III, Deputy DPS Commissioner, took the oath of office. In addition, Lt. Col. Stephanie L. Stallings, DPS Director of Support / Administrative Operations, and Capt. Garrett Fiveash, Director of Training, notes.

Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in field training. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive at least 408 hours of basic mandate training. Upon graduation from Trooper School, these newly graduated Soldiers received over 1,400 hours of training including driving, defense tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and proceedings, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training courses.

During his remarks to his classmates, Trooper Scott Curry, class president, thought about family and how it extends beyond the immediate family to his classmates and the training staff he went with on his trooper journey. It expressed the importance of the friendships that helped them through these difficult times.

Four of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various fields. The recipients were:

  • Driving Skills – Trooper Jamie Allen
  • Gun Handling – Trooper Zachary Goodman
  • Top Gun – Trooper Cameron York
  • Highest Academic Average – Trooper Cameron Reese

Trooper Reese also received a $ 2,000 scholarship towards a Masters Degree from Reinhardt University for the highest academic average (95.89) in his class. He already holds a Bachelor of Science degree in legal science. This fellowship is named after Cpl. Chadwick LeCroy, who was killed on duty on December 27, 2010. The university also awarded a $ 1,000 scholarship to each soldier for a bachelor’s degree.

In addition, the following graduates have been recognized for leadership roles: Trooper Bradley Gurganus, Vice President; Soldier Katlyn Reid, secretary; Trooper Vijaya Purugulla, Treasurer; Soldier Derek Long, chaplain; Soldier Darryll Fulghum, Sergeant-at-Arms; and trooper Joshua Powell, pennant bearer.

Each assigned soldier reports to the following assigned post:

Jamie Allen Article 16 – Helena
Jhordann Barker Post 44 – Forsyth
Edgar Bellorin Post 51 – Gwinnett
Thomas Bond Contribution 42 – Rincon
Scott Curry Post 17 – Washington
Aaron Deyton Post 27 – Blue Ridge
Logan Edwards Article 29 – Paulding
Seth Frady Post 6 – Gainesville
Andrew Frizzell Post 15 – Perry
Darryll Fulghum Post 31 – Valdosta
Zackary Goodman Post 8 – Madison
Cody E. Gordy Contribution 32 – Athens
Bradley J. Gurganus Contribution 42 – Rincon
Jorge Hernandez Post 6 – Gainesville
Evan Johnson Post 43 – Calhoun
Xavier Johnson Post 39 – Cuthbert
Kenneth Jones Post 10 – America
David Jones Post 27 – Blue Ridge
Derek Long Post 6 – Gainesville
Keith McCarty Post 45 – States Boro
Joshua Nelson Post 1 – Griffin
Brave Nunn Post 2 – LaGrange
Joshua Powell Post 30 – Cordele
Vijaya Purugulla Post 2 – LaGrange
Cameron Reese Post 45 – States Boro
Katlyn S. Reid Post 30 – Cordele
John Reinhardt Post 13 – Tifton
Seth Scriven Post 21 – Sylvania
Brandon Simerly Article 14 – Kolquitt
Marquez G. Styles Post 1 – Griffin
Christopher Thompson Post 36 – Douglas
James Turner, III Post 45 – States Boro
Austin Lee Weaver Post 3 – Cartersville
Cameron York Post 35 – Jekyll Island