Georgia Authorized Awards winners – together with Lawyer of the 12 months finalists – have been introduced

The Daily Report is proud to announce these 2021 Georgia Legal Awards winners. We will publish a special insert later this summer further highlighting these seasoned practitioners and their important achievements. At this point, we will announce the Lawyer of the Year winner from this group of three finalists.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s winners.

Lawyer of the Year finalists

Ryan Germany, General Counsel to the Georgian Foreign Minister, for his role in defending the state’s electoral system against demands on both sides of the political spectrum.

Tricia CK Hoffler, The CK Hoffler Firm, for her influence in litigation against the state over voting rights and for her work as President of the National Bar Association.

Michael Terry, Bondurant Mixson & Elmore, for, among other things, his work in defending litigation relating to mask mandates and the 2020 election.

Life’s work

Charysse Alexander – Senior Litigation Counsel with the US Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Georgia

Michael Baskin – The Baskin Law Group

Stan Blackburn – Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton

Jim Durham – Blacksmith hall stand

Don Keenan – Keenan law firm

Marion Pope – Hasty Pope Davies

Bob Rothmann – Arnall Golden Gregory

Dwight Thomas – Dwight L. Thomas

Catherine Vandenberg – Atlanta Legal Aid Society (since retirement)

Paul Weathington – Weathington

Thelma Wyatt Cummings Moore – Moore’s law


Derick Cooper – Weinberg Wheeler Hudgins Gunn & Dial

Gillian Crow – Swift, Currie, McGhee & Hiers

Kimberlynn Davis – Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton

Tiffany Dillingham – US Attorney General

Sawyer Duncan – King & Spalding

Elissa Haynes – Drew Eckl Farnham

Daniel Hunyh – Morris, Manning & Martin

Madison kitchens – King & Spalding

Lumpkin-Dawson improvements – US Attorney’s Office for the Northern District of Georgia

Jason Marcus – Bracker & Marcus

Michael May – Mayo hill

Jenae Moxie – Wilkie Farr & Gallagher

Jordan Myers – Alston & Vogel

Cara Peterman – Alston & Vogel

Andrew Pinson – Georgia Solicitor General, Attorney General’s Office

Candis Jones Smith – Lewis Brisbois

Julia Stein – Caplan Cobb

Elizabeth story – Parker Poe

Sachin Varghese – Bondurant Mixson & Elmore

Joseph Wilson – Joseph Wilson attorneys

Our special thanks also go to our external jury members, who offer an invaluable service:

On the rise panel

• Tony Cochran from Smith, Gambrell & Russell (Best Mentor 2020)

• Sachi Cole of Penn Law Group (on the rise in 2020)

• Tomekia Daniel from Georgia Legal Service (Best Mentor 2020)

• Senior Judge Gail Tusan of JAMS (a senior judge and former chief judge of the Fulton County Superior Court)

• Bryan Tyson of Taylor English Duma (2016 Lawyer of the Year Finalist)

Lawyer of the Year Panel

• Jenn Coalson of Parks Chesin & Walbert, 2019 On the Rise Class participant

• Sarah Geraghty of the Southern Center for Human Rights, our 2019 Lawyer of the Year

• Crystal McElrath from Swift Currie, a member of the 2020 On the Rise class

• BJay Pak from Alston & Bird, former US attorney and 2011 Award Winner

• Brandon Peak of Butler Wooten Peak, a 2020 Lawyer of the Year finalist

• W. Ray Persons of King & Spalding (winner of the Lifetime Achievement 2016)