Best Online Driver Education in Georgia (2023)

Affiliate Disclosure: Automoblog and its affiliates may receive compensation if you purchase the products listed below.

Crash Course:

  • Drivers aged 16 and 17 must complete driver training to qualify for a provisional license.
  • Online driver courses from our top providers range from $19.95 to $29.95.
  • Driver license applicants under the age of 18 must also complete an alcohol and drug education course.

As you prepare to obtain your Georgia learner permit or license, streamline your application process by preparing in advance. Below we cover driver education requirements, step-by-step guides to getting your driver’s license, and the best online driver education courses in your state.

The Best Online Driver Education Courses in Georgia

  • Acceptable
  • Ed Direct from the driver
  • iDriveSafely

Read our detailed reviews below.

How do you get a driver’s license in Georgia?

Drivers under the age of 18 must complete a learner permit period before they are eligible for a provisional category D licence.

Applying for a learning permit under the age of 18

Youth drivers are eligible for their Georgia Learner Permit at age 15. After reaching this age, they can obtain their learning permit by completing the following steps:

  1. Submit an online license/ID/permission form
  2. Make an appointment with your local Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) office
  3. Provide proof of identity and school registration
  4. Pass vision and knowledge tests
  5. Have your picture taken
  6. Pay the applicable fees
  7. Meet parental approval requirements

Young drivers with a learner’s license may only drive a vehicle with a person who:

  • Is 21 years or older
  • Possesses a category C driver’s license
  • Sits in the passenger seat

Applying for a provisional class D license under 18 years old

To obtain a provisional category D license, new drivers aged 16 and 17 must:

  • Have held a learner’s permit for at least one year and one day
  • There were no serious traffic violations that resulted in a permit being revoked
  • Fulfilled the requirements of the law of Joshua

What is Joshua’s law?

Joshua’s Law, which went into effect in 2007, requires young drivers to complete a thorough driver education phase before they are eligible for a provisional D category license. The law aims to reduce the accident rate among young novice drivers.

According to Joshua’s law, most teenage drivers must:

  • 30 hours of driver training in a state-approved course
  • 40 hours of supervised driver training, including six hours of night driving
  • Six hours of professional training behind the wheel

In some situations, parental driving lessons can replace professional in-car driver training. See the Georgia DDS for more information.

Steps to apply

After meeting the above requirements, teen drivers can apply for their driver’s license by following the steps below:

  1. Submit an online license/ID/permission form
  2. Make an appointment at your local DDS office
  3. Submit proof of identity and an ADAP or eADAP certificate of completion
  4. Submit proof of enrollment
  5. Hand in your learner’s permit
  6. If necessary, pass a vision test
  7. Take and pass a fitness to drive test
  8. Take a picture
  9. Pay all applicable fees
  10. Meet parental approval requirements

Provisional category D licenses have special passenger restrictions. See the Georgia DDS for details.

Is driver education required in Georgia?

Georgia youth ages 16 and 17 pursuing their provisional D-category driver’s license must complete driver training and an alcohol and drug education course.

How long does driver training take in Georgia?

Georgia driver education requirements under Joshua’s law include 30 hours of driver education and, in most cases, six hours of professional driver instruction. All minors wishing to apply for a provisional driver’s license must also complete 40 hours of supervised driver training, including six hours of night driving.

How Much Does Driver Education Cost In Georgia?

The cost of online driver education courses in Georgia offered by our top providers ranges from $19.95 to $29.95. Expect higher prices for face-to-face driving courses.

What Are The Best Online Driver Education Courses In Georgia?

#1 Aceable

What we like about Aceable:

  • Low course costs
  • 100% Money Back Guarantee
  • Access the course online or via a mobile app

Aceable was founded in 2013 with the aim of expanding online access to driving school materials. Based in Austin, Texas, the company began offering online driver training courses accredited in its home state. Since then, the company has expanded, offering courses in multiple states and with an easy-to-use mobile app.

For anyone dissatisfied with Aceable’s online driver education, the company offers a 100% money-back guarantee for uncompleted courses, which will be refunded within 30 days of purchase. Find out more by visiting our Aceable review or the Aceable website.

Suitable courses in Georgia:


What we like about

  • Over 25 years of experience
  • Great customer service
  • Low course costs courses in Georgia are fully refundable within 30 days of purchase unless a certificate of completion has been issued. Learn more about rates and pricing by reading our in-depth review. courses in Georgia:

  • Training for young drivers: Meets the requirements of Joshua’s Law of Georgia for 16 and 17 year old drivers seeking a driver’s license

Prices for the course listed above include an optional rebate and a one-month free trial of Allstate Roadside Services.


What we like about IMPROV:

  • Comedy Lessons
  • 24/7 customer support
  • Full refund possible

IMPROV was founded in 2009 and is based in Los Angeles, California. Customer feedback for IMPROV highlights exciting driving lessons, affordable course prices and excellent customer service.

Improv offers a full refund of course fees unless a certificate of completion is issued. Learn more about IMPROV courses and their availability by reading our IMPROV review.

IMPROV courses in Georgia:

  • Training for young drivers: Meets all Joshua’s Law driver education requirements for 16 and 17 year old drivers seeking a driver’s license.

#4 Driver’s Ed Direct

What we like about Driver’s Ed Direct:

  • Excellent customer reviews
  • Video library for additional learning
  • Interactive Games

Drivers Ed Direct was founded in 2006 and is now based in Chatsworth, California. The company is working with iDriveSafely and other well-known providers to offer courses in more locations. Customers praise the easy sign-up process and excellent customer service.

Drivers Ed Direct’s junior driver training courses are delivered entirely online. Driving lessons are only available in California. Find out more by reading our in-depth Drivers Ed Direct review.

Driver’s Ed Direct courses in Georgia:

  • Training for young drivers: The completed 30-hour driver course meets Joshua’s legal requirements for drivers aged 16 and 17 seeking a driver’s license.

#5 Safe2Drive

What we like about Safe2Drive:

  • Strong Refund Policy
  • Low average course cost
  • Detailed guides for teens, parents and new adult drivers

Founded in 2003, Safe2Drive is based in Rancho Santo Margarita, California. The company has positive reviews on Yelp and Google and has an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.

Safe2Drive offers a full refund for all online driver education courses within 30 days of purchase and before a certificate of completion is issued.

Safe2Drive courses in Georgia:

  • Training for young drivers: The 30-hour course meets Joshua’s legal requirements and qualifies drivers aged 16 and 17 for a provisional Class D driver’s license.

Georgia Department of Driver Services contact information and resources

For detailed information on Georgia learner permits, Class D licenses, accredited traffic schools, and related topics, visit the Georgia DDS website. Find a local DDS office here and contact the DDS Helpline at 678-413-8400, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. EST.

You might also be interested in:

FAQ: Online Driver Education in Georgia

Here are a few frequently asked questions that might help you in your search for the best online driving courses in Georgia.

Can you take driver training online in the state of Georgia?

Yes, Georgia has many DDS-approved online courses to help young drivers meet Joshua law requirements. Youngsters may need to complete professional driver training at another school.

Is Georgia Online Drivers License Legit?

The courses offered by the providers on our list are approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services. For more information on certified driver schools, visit the Georgia DDS website.

When to start driver training in Georgia

Young people can start driver training at the age of 15 and are entitled to a learner driver’s license. Completion of driver training is only required if young people aged 16 or 17 are looking to upgrade their driver’s license to a provisional driver’s license.

Our methodology

Because there are so many online driver courses, we work hard to find the providers with the highest quality. Our goal is to provide our readers with accurate, trustworthy, and helpful reviews.

minimum requirements

Using consumer review data, we first identified a set of minimum requirements for any driving course provider. To be included in our ranking, each provider must have:

  • Self-paced online courses
  • Courses available in at least two states
  • An active Better Business Bureau (BBB) ​​profile
  • Active reviews on Google, Yelp and/or Trustpilot
  • A majority of DMV approved courses in the states where they operate

key metrics

After selecting providers that met our minimum requirements, we conducted extensive research and identified the following key metrics to rank the best online driver courses for 2023.

  • Accessibility (20%): Our methodology rewards programs that are inexpensive, self-directed, and recognized in most states in which they operate. These metrics identify programs that are more accessible to more people.
  • Quality (30%): We look closely at each vendor’s availability and quality of customer support, as well as the number of years they have been in business. We reward vendors who offer money-back guarantees and optional behind-the-wheel courses.
  • Reputation (50%): We evaluate hundreds of online reviews—on BBB, Google, Trustpilot, and Yelp—to determine a program’s reputation among its current and former customers.

Image by Motortion via subscription stock.